Historic Preservation Review Board

Regular Meetings

The HPRB meets regularly at 4:00 p.m. on the 2nd and 4th Thursdays of the month. See Agenda and Participation Info for meeting location.

Public Participation

The Public is encouraged to attend & comment at our meeting. Participation info:

In Person: Town Council Chambers, 60 Second Street, Friday Harbor, WA

By Zoom: 

  • Town Zoom Meeting Link

  • Meeting ID: 892 4184 1279 / Passcode: 534709

  • One tap mobile: +12532158782,,89241841279#,,,,*534709# US (Tacoma)



Thursday, December 14, 2023 @ 4 PM

4:00 PM

Call to Order / Roll Call

4:05 PM

Public Comments

4:10 PM

Design Review

4:40 PM

Project Workshop

5:10 PM

Community Development Update

5:15 PM


Valuing heritage resources is a vital part of the character and economy of Friday Harbor. The Historic Preservation Review Board stewards Friday Harbor’s historic sense of place.

Agendas, Minutes & Video

Agenda Minutes Video

Background and Mission

In 1998, the Town of Friday Harbor created a Historic Preservation Program (HPRB) and the Historic Preservation Review Board to serve in an advisory capacity to the Town Council. The Board considers and recommends measures and incentives that will encourage and foster preservation of historic structures, sites, or districts and conducts design review for construction projects in the Historic District.

Board Member Term Length and Qualifications

The Town of Friday Harbor Historic Preservation Review Board is a five-member volunteer board appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Town Council. Members of the HPRB shall serve terms of two years. The term of office of each officer shall run until the subsequent election.


The Council shall appoint members with qualifications, skills, or demonstrated experience and interest in one or more of the following categories:

  • Architecture/architectural history
  • Construction
  • Design review
  • Historic preservation
  • Historical research
  • Landscape design
  • Local history
  • Planning
  • Real estate


VolunteerTerm expires:
David HarshMarch 31, 2024
March 31, 2023
Jeff Iverson
March 31, 2024
Brian CarlsonMarch 31, 2023
Karl EberhardMarch 31, 2024


(Vacant)Historic Preservation Coordinator